Resolution “A Healthy Way Forward”

WHEREAS, we acknowledge that individuals, local churches, conferences and jurisdictions remain divided in their personal convictions regarding the ordination of LGBTQ clergy and the marriage of LGBTQ persons in United Methodist churches;

WHEREAS, the passage of the Modified Traditionalist Plan at the Special Called Session of General Conference demonstrably does not represent the biblical understanding or moral sensibility of many United Methodist clergy and lay people;

WHEREAS, the passage of the Modified Traditionalist Plan has not led to greater clarity; instead it has generated greater disunity and has sparked increased organization among a broad coalition of those opposed to both its spirit and its implementation;

WHEREAS, individuals within the United Methodist Church hold, with integrity, a broad range of theological and biblical perspectives; but many do not support the use of punitive actions and denigrating language to police one another’s deeply held values;

BE IT RESOLVED, that the East Ohio Conference acknowledges the need for a healthy way forward that is characterized by dialogue, mutual respect and understanding, and multiple viable pathways; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the East Ohio Conference make known and embrace four tenets developed by the diverse leadership and constituency of UMC Next:

  1. We long to be passionate followers of Jesus Christ, committed to a Wesleyan vision of Christianity, anchored in scripture and informed by tradition, experience and reason as we live a life of personal piety and social holiness.
  2. We commit to resist evil, injustice and oppression in all forms and toward all people and build a church which affirms the full participation of all ages, nations, races, classes, cultures, gender identities, sexual orientations, and abilities.
  3. We reject the Traditional Plan approved at General Conference 2019 as inconsistent with the gospel of Jesus Christ and will resist its implementation.
  4. We will work to eliminate discriminatory language and the restrictions and penalties in the Discipline regarding LGBTQ persons. We affirm the sacred worth of LGBTQ persons, celebrate their gifts, and commit to being in ministry together.

Submitters’ Names: Joy Parker, Dr. Martha Banks, Jason Hockran, Rev. Dianne Tobey Covault, Kelsey Orosan, Rev. Dan Bryant, Connor Prusha, William Jones, Shannon Trenton, Rev. Andy Call